Bookmark and Share

Julian Hutchinson, BS '58, of Sparta, Wis., has been a professional forester for 52 years. After graduation, he served with the Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources for eight years as a service forester in Monroe County. In 1966, he accepted a natural resource position with the U.S. Department of Army at Camp (now Fort) McCoy. After 24 years, he retired from McCoy as chief of the Natural Resource Management Division and started a consulting firm, Hutchinson Resource Management, which generally served a nine–county area. Hutchinson still is active as a consultant but intends to wind down in the next couple of years.


Robert (Bob) Thompson, MS '69 and PhD '74, of Washington, D.C., received the American Farm Bureau Federation's Distinguished Service to Agriculture Award in January.


Drew G. Brand, BS '76, of Farmersburg, Ind., received the Partners in Conservation Award from the U.S. secretary of the Interior, Washington, D.C., as part of the Indiana Soils/Prime Farmland Team. As a member of this team, Brand aided in developing a handbook with guidelines for restoring reclaimed mine soils to productive farmland.

Tom Floyd, BS '77, of Bloomington, Ill., a Monsanto science fellow, was recognized by Monsanto with the Global Plant Breeding Career Achievement Award. Career highlights include development of more than 120 soybean varieties planted on 60 million acres in the U.S. and sales in excess of $1 billion.


Helen M. Evrard Piotter, BS '80, of Macy, Ind., was granted the 3-A Sanitary Standards Inc. Distinguished Service Award for her work in promoting 3–A Sanitary Standards throughout the dairy and food industries. She is active on several of the standing work groups that develop and publish standards for the construction and operation of sanitary food processing equipment. She has been responsible for the introduction of one new standard. She represents Dean Foods on the 3–A Sanitary Standards Steering Committee and Variance Review Committee and is vice chair of the Format and Style Committee.

Col. Richard Dean, BS '81, of Springfield, Va., received the Bronze Star as commander of the 579th Engineer Detachment upon redeployment from Kandahar, Afghanistan.


Stephanie (Crill) Sheldon, BS '94, of Roachdale, Ind., is president of the Indiana Nursery and Landscape Association.

Bradley S. Kohlhagen, BS '97, and his wife, Ingrid M. Hively Kohlhagen, BS '98, of Monroe, Ind., celebrated the birth of their second daughter, Beth Morgan, on April 20. She joins brother Bo, 2, and sister Bree, 1.

Jeanette Merritt, BS '97, and her husband, Rusty Merritt, BS '97, of Peru, Ind., had their third child, Levi Eugene, on Aug. 26, 2010. He has two sisters, Alexandra, 7, and Lauryn, 4.

Bennii (Shore) Weldy, BS '99, married Christopher Weldy on Sept. 25, 2010, at their farm in Kirklin, Ind.


Brooke Gajownik, BS '00, and her husband, Keith Gajownik, BS' 99, of Indianapolis, had a girl, Gracie Elizabeth, on Oct. 17, 2010.

Thomas Kodiak, BS '00, of Washington, D.C., is grants officer for the federal Office of Weapons Removal and Abatement. He oversees many international projects involving land–mine clearance and small arms/light weapons destruction.

Katherine L. Sciera Snyder, BS '01, married Eric A. Snyder on April 30 in Atlanta. The couple resides in Smyrna, Ga.

Krista A. Emmons, BS '02, of Martinsville, Ind., and her husband, Derek, celebrated the birth of their third child, Delilah Jean, on Jan. 12.

Carol (Crum) Kemple, BS '02, of Jeffersonville, Ind., was selected as the No.1 master stock picker for Real Estate Investment Trust, according to The Wall Street Journal's "Best on the Street" report on May 10.

Katherine (Hoffmann) Mark, BS' 02, of Prairie View, Ill., and her husband, Kevin Mark, had their second child, Michael Mark, on Nov. 25, 2009.

Neil Fausset, BS '06, of Lebanon, Ind., and his wife, Hadleigh, had twins — Samuel Glen and Marah Caroline — on June 22.

Courtney Schmidt, BS '06, and her husband, Josh Schmidt, BS '06, of Terre Haute, Ind., had a son, Mitchell Lewis Schmidt, on Aug. 17, 2010.

Patty Skinkis, PhD '06, of Albany, Ore., received the Savery Outstanding Young Faculty Award from the College of Agricultural Sciences at Oregon State University in October 2010 for her work in research, teaching and Extension. She also was awarded the Outstanding Service Award in February 2011 from the Oregon wine grape industry for her work in focusing and propelling research initiatives.

Susan Wulf, BS '07, of Ames, Iowa, has been chosen as the Women in Denim Inspiration Award winner for 2011. She was presented the award in January at the seventh annual Women in Denim Conference, an educational and networking event for women active in farming or agriculture–based businesses, held in Storm Lake, Iowa.


Howard R. Knaus, BS '39, of West Lafayette, Ind., June 3.

Stanley K. Suddarth, BS '43, MS '49, PhD '52, of Newberg, Ore., June 9.

Robert L. Gallun, MS '50, PhD '60, of West Lafayette, Ind., June 24.

Ersel J. Rogers, BS '59, of Greensburg, Ind., Dec. 28, 2010.

Harold C. Michel, BS '73, of Chandler, Ind., Jan. 13.

Michael Mike Mailander, MS '79, PhD '85, of Baton Rouge, La., Dec. 17, 2010.

Stephanie E. James, BS '99, of Knoxville, Tenn., Jan. 14.

Purdue Agriculture, 615 West State Street,
West Lafayette, IN 47907-2053 USA, (765) 494-8396
© 2011 Purdue University. An equal access, equal opportunity university.

RSS Feed | | Web Policies
1-888-EXT-INFO (1-888-398-4636)