HTIRC
Hardwood Tree Improvement and Regeneration Center
Scholarships and Jobs

Fred M. van Eck Scholarships:
Graduate Assistantships

Hardwood Tree Improvement and Regeneration Center
Department of Forestry and Natural Resources, Purdue University

Description: The Hardwood Tree Improvement and Regeneration Center (HTIRC) at Purdue University is seeking outstanding candidates interested in working toward M.S. or Ph.D. degrees. Areas of research include: development of plant tissue culture and genetic modification technologies for tree improvement; conservation and population genetics; forest tree breeding; forest entomology; nursery, outplanting, and silvicultural stand management.

Fred M. van Eck Foundation for Purdue University : Funding for the van Eck Scholarships is provided by the Fred M. van Eck Foundation for Purdue University whose purpose is to support research in the genetic improvement of high-value North American hardwood tree species.

Qualifications: Candidates should have well developed quantitative skills and knowledge and experience in biological sciences such as forestry, horticulture, botany, plant biology, genetics, physiology, entomology, or pathology. Candidates should have a GPA of at least 3.4 and GRE scores averaging above the 60th percentile.

Assistantships will be awarded at $18,050 (M.S.) and $20,710 (Ph.D.) per year. In addition, an annual research budget ($10,000) will be available for research support and a laptop computer will be provided for the duration of the scholarship.

Applications or Additional Information : For fall semester, (August 2015), applications must be received by December 12, 2014 (M.S. and Ph.D). Applicants must mail a short (one page) letter of interest, resume, cumulative GPA, GRE scores, TOEFL scores (international students only) and three letters of reference to Purdue University Graduate School and indicate the Department of Forestry and Natural Resources. Please visit: www.htirc.org and contact Drs. Fei
( sfei@purdue.edu), Ginzel ( mginzel@purdue.edu ), Jacobs ( djacobs@purdue.edu ), Jenkins ( jenkinma@purdue.edu ), Lawson ( sslawson@purdue.edu or shaneka.lawson@gmail.com ), Meilan ( rmeilan@purdue.edu ), Michler
( michler@purdue.edu or cmichler@fs.fed.us ), Pijut ( ppijut@purdue.edu or ppijut@fs.fed.us ), Saunders
( msaunders@purdue.edu ), or Woeste ( woeste@purdue.edu or kwoeste@fs.fed.us ) prior to submitting a formal application and identify and communicate with one of these principal investigators as your potential adviser.

About us: HTIRC is a collaborative regional research organization of industry, state and federal agency and university partners, administratively located in the Department of Forestry and Natural Resources at Purdue University . Its purpose is to improve the genetic quality and regeneration success of North American hardwood tree species.

Purdue University is an equal opportunity-affirmative action employer.

 

Department of Forestry and Natural Resources USDA Forest Service HTIRC Purdue University